Disability Living Allowance: What Illnesses Qualify for UK DLA (Child & Adults)?

We would like to compel you to read this article and gain detailed information on Disability Living Allowance: What Illnesses Qualify for DLA (Child & Adults)?

Disability Living Allowance

People with disabilities, whether physical or mental, require care and financial help in order to maintain themselves. With Disability Living Allowance (DLA), the UK government supports disabled individuals financially and in terms of care.

DLA is money for those who are disabled and require more care or mobility. There are two parts: the movement part and the care component. We should also note that, beginning of June 20, 2016, DLA for those 16 and older has been replaced by Personal Independence Payment (PIP) in order to qualify for State Pension.

If you wish to know more about the UK Disability Living Allowance, we recommend you read this post. Here, we are going to discuss in detail the illnesses that qualify for DLA and the processes involved in attaining the benefits.

Benefits under Disability Living Allowance

DLA is meant to help with the additional expenses of living with a disability; it is tax-free and is not dependent on your income or your child’s savings. In the UK, a tax-free payment for those with disabilities is called Disability Living Allowance.

Children from three months to sixteen years old may apply for DLA by visiting the official website at www.gov.uk. DLA benefits extend beyond children with physical disabilities. It can be used to treat a number of illnesses, such as learning difficulties, developmental delays, and disorders relating to the behavior and mental health.

Disability Living Allowance 2024

Article NameDisability Living Allowance
Implemented byGovernment of UK
BranchesPersonal Independence Payment (PIP)
ComponentsCare ComponentsMobile Components
CriteriaChildren: Below 16 yearsAdults: Above 16 years
DLA Allowance Rate£26.90 to £172.75/week
DLA Payment ModeDirect deposit every 4 weeks.
Government of UK Web portalClick Here

What Illnesses Qualify for DLA?

You can receive DLA payments if you meet 21 categories of health issues out of a total of 547 illnesses. The amount you get is determined by how much assistance you need. We’ve included the whole list of ailments that are eligible for compensation below.

  • Musculoskeletal disease
  • Psychiatric disorders
  • Neurological disease
  • Respiratory disease
  • Musculoskeletal disease
  • Malignant disease
  • Visual disease
  • Endocrine disease
  • Cardiovascular disease
  • Hearing disorders
  • Genitourinary disease
  • Gastrointestinal disease
  • Skin disease
  • Autoimmune disease
  • Infectious disease
  • Diseases of the liver, gallbladder, biliary tract
  • Diseases of the immune system
  • Hematological Disease
  • Multisystem and extremes of age
  • Metabolic disease
  • Unknown or missing

In order to maintain your Disability Living Allowance (DLA) claim, you must be eligible for either the Mobility Component or the Care Component. If daily activities like dressing or cooking are difficult for you, you may qualify for the care component. If walking without assistance is really difficult for you, you may qualify for the mobility component.

Disability Living Allowance for Child

DLA for children can help with the additional expenses of caring for a kid under the age of sixteen who needs more care or assistance than a youngster of the same age without a disability. From the age of three months, a child can get the care component.

In the event that your child requires more care, attention, or supervision than a youngster of the same age who isn’t disabled, you may be entitled to file for Disability Living Allowance (DLA). Children who struggle to walk or navigate unfamiliar outside environments might also make this claim.

In addition to having the ailment for at least three months, your child’s disability must be expected to endure for six more. Depending on the amount of assistance the kid needs, the DLA rate ranges from £26.90 to £172.75 each week.

Disability Living Allowance for Adults

You must be terminally sick, have a sickness, be disabled, or have a long-term physical or mental health condition in order to be eligible for Adult Disability Payment. 13 weeks or longer is considered a long-term condition, with at least 39 weeks remaining.

Adult Disability Payment is divided into two sections; the rates at which each is paid differ. Based on your requirements, you might be eligible for any or both of these. Just so you know, you have to let the Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) know if anything changes.

If you were born on or before April 8, 1948, and you still need care or assistance with mobility, you can continue to get DLA. If you are currently getting DLA and were born after April 8, 1948, you will need to apply for PIP.

That you have selected our portal to learn about Disability Living Allowance makes us very happy. Please keep visiting us to get more details on various financial programs.

Leave a Comment